Venue:                        Auditorium (Red Carpet), Sokoto State University, Sokoto.

Date:                            1st to 4th March, 2020

Theme:                       “Chemistry: A viable tool for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals”


The primary targets of the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals are to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all by the year 2030. To achieve this, chemists are called to make huge contributions by examining sources of all chemicals and their transformations; their end of life fate; and impacts on people, the environment and the economy. The annual symposium presents a platform for experts, professionals, early-career researchers and students in all areas of the chemical sciences to interact, network and share latest developments on works fundamental to meeting the UN 2030 target.

Keynote Speaker
Prof. Bashir Garba, MFR
Hon. Commissioner, Ministry of Higher Education, Sokoto State.

Invited Plenary Speakers
i. Dr. R. J. Errington, NUPOM Laboratory, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
ii. Prof. A. E. Ofomaja, Vaal University of Technology, South Africa
iii. Prof. M, K. Abubakar FAS OON, Former Hon. Minister of Science and Technology, Federal Republic of Nigeria.
iv. Prof. P.A.P Mamza FPIN FICCON FCSN, President, Polymer Institute of Nigeria/Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
v. Prof. Saidu Shettima FICCON FCSN, Former President, Chemical Society of Nigeria.

Registration fees

Membership Category

Early bird

(until 31 January 2020)

Late registration

(after 31 January 2020)

ACS members

N10, 000

N12, 000

ACS Non-members

N12, 000

N15, 000


N20, 000

N25, 000

Foreign participants




N3, 500

N3, 500

Accompanying persons

N3, 500

N3, 500

Major themes

The major sub-themes of the Symposium include:
· Chemistry for poverty eradication and security
· Chemistry for environmental protection
· Chemistry for global prosperity

Call for abstracts

The Local Organising Committee invites all academics, scientists, engineers, researchers, industrialists and students involved in chemistry-related works to submit abstracts for oral or poster presentations. Abstracts should not be more than 250 words and can be submitted via using the template in the link below. Abstract thematic areas include:
· Green and Sustainable Chemistry
· Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
· Catalysis
· Bioresources and renewable energy
· Trends in Chemistry Education
· Inorganic/Organic Chemistry
· Natural products, medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry
· Polymers and advanced materials
· Computational/Physical Chemistry
· Waste management and recycling
· Analytical Chemistry
· Food and Agrochemistry
· Petroleum and Petrochemicals
· Environmental Chemistry

Important dates

12 July 2019- First Announcement/Abstract submission begins
6 August 2019- Early Registration Begins
31 December 2019- Deadline for Submission of Abstract
31 January 2020- Deadline for Early Bird Registration
01 March 2020- Arrival of Participants
02 March 2020- Opening Ceremony and Plenary Lectures
03 March 2020- Scientific/Technical Sessions
04 March 2020- Departure of Participants

Registration fee and details

Interested participants, should send their enquiries, interest to participate and abstract (as email attachment) to the email:
ACS members Early bird    N10, 000
ACS members Late bird    N12,000
ACS non-members Early bird    N12,000
ACS non-members Late bird    N15,000
Industrialists Early bird    N20,000
Industrialists Late bird    N25,000
Foreign participants Students    $150 (or its Naira equivalent)
Accompanying Person    N3,500

Bank Account For Payment
The Bank Account details are as follows:
Bank Account Beneficiary Name: AMERICAN CHEM. SC. ASSOC. OF NIG. Bank Name: GTBank plc
Bank Account No: 0239048782 (For Naira) and 0239048799 (For Dollar).

Prof. J. A. Obaleye
(Chairman, ACS Nigeria)
Department of Chemistry,
University of Ilorin,
Kwara State, Nigeria.
Mobile: +2348033582048

Dr. Edu Inam
(Vice-Chairman, ACS Nigeria)
Department of Chemistry,
University of Uyo,
Akwa-Ibom State, Nigeria.
Mobile: +2347062404480

Prof. L. G. Hassan
(Chairman, LOC)
Department of Pure and Applied Chemistry,
Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto
Sokoto State, Nigeria.
Mobile: +2348036076965

Dr. Thompson Izuagie
(Secretary, LOC)
Department of Chemistry,
Sokoto State University, Sokoto
Sokoto State, Nigeria.
Mobile: +2349066942275

Dr. M. L. Muhammad
(Chairman, Scientific Sub-committee)
Department of Pure and Applied Chemistry,
Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto
Sokoto State, Nigeria.
Mobile: +2348032303517

Dr. Tolulope M. Fasina
Department of Chemistry,
University of Lagos, Akoka Yaba.
Lagos, Nigeria